ESA Council candidateship

Maria Chatzaki (MCH) is Associate Professor at the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics of the Democritus University of Thrace. She obtained has bachelor's, MSc and PhD at the Biology Dpt of the University of Crete, Natural History Museum of Crete (NHMC). Since then, she has an ongoing collaboration with NHMC and she holds the position of subcurator for the arachnological collections. Her research focuses on: spider systematics; biogeography; phylogeography; ecology; mountain ecology; toxinology and public health. Understanding that conservation of biodiversity primarily relies on good and established information on species taxonomy and distribution she has dedicated much of her research on bringing spider knowledge in Greece to a point that enables ecological, biogeographical and conservation studies to be carried out using reliable and complete datasets of this organism. She has published multiple taxonomic papers and revisions, including the description of more than 47 new species and 3 new genera, taxonomic revisions on more than 60 species, as well as multiple new records for Greece and Europe, mostly belonging to the family Gnaphosidae, Dysderidae and mygalomorph spiders. Her recent activity also includes the online national catalogue (Chatzaki et al. 2015, SPIDOnet.gr - Spiders of Greece, Version 1.0, online at https://araneae.nmbe.ch/spidonet) and the assessment of the conservation status of 200 spider species, including 160 Greek endemics, for IUCN (https://redlist.necca.gov.gr/en/home-copy/).

MCH is member of the European Arachnological Society (Secretary of the council since 2008), the International Arachnological Society, editorial board member of the World Spider Catalogue - WSC - http://www.wsc.nmbe.ch/ since 2016 and member of the council of the Hellenic Zoological Society (2014-2016). Recently she joined the of in the editorial board of the journal Zootaxa group experts (https://www.mapress.com/zt/Editors).

MCH would like to keep her position as a member of the ESA council – Secretary responsible for communication.